Vocations

What Moves You to Love Others?

In the first episode of Fr. Barron’s Catholicism project, he makes the point that Jesus is like no other king. He came, not to rule by power and conquest, but by His love. Our Foundress, St Magdalene of Canossa tells her daughters, “God has given you a great gift by giving you a vocation to this Holy Institute of Charity…our principle aim is to love God with all our heart and our neighbor as ourselves for the love of God.” But the question for us is, “What moves us to love?”, or, what is our motivation in our loving?

In Saint Paul’s famous passage from 1 Corinthians 13:1-3:

If I speak in human and angelic tongues but do not have love, I am a resounding gong or a clashing cymbal. And if I have the gift of prophecy and comprehend all mysteries and all knowledge; if I have all faith so as to move mountains but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give away everything I own, and if I hand my body over so that I may boast but do not have love, I gain nothing.

So, even in doing fantastic things, if not done in love, it is only good in as much as the world can perceive it as such. But. When we manage to do good works for the love of God, even if maybe someone else may manage to do it more perfectly (but without love), the difference between the two motivations determines how much God’s grace can come in and bless the work beyond our own understanding.

What motivates you to love?  The answer to this question will open the path of your vocation, and how God wishes you to spend that love.

One thought on “What Moves You to Love Others?

Leave a Reply

